Leight Hearted Babble


Video killed the radio star…
March 12, 2010, 11:18 am
Filed under: devotional thoughts, random thoughts, scripture

…and Google killed the Yellow Pages!

It’s the time of year when whoever delivers the phone books is delivering the phone books. This leads me to ask the question, “when’s the last time I used a phone book?”

With Google so easily accessible from my computer or Blackberry, it’s been several years since I actually thumbed through the phone book to find a phone number or address. (Random thought: I wonder if my alphabetizing skills have been hurt by this fact.)

I wondered if phone books were good for anything anymore. So, I decided to Google it and I found out you can use an old phone book for lots of things. You can stack them to make a footstool or exercise step. You can tear out the pages to use as a table cover during messy crafts.  If you’re OCD, you can make a cool pen/pencil/marker organizer. Or, my personal favorite, you can carve the face of your favorite celebrity in them.

The thought that the phone book is obsolete and will soon be useless led me to rejoice in this truth…

“The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever.”

(Isaiah 40:8 ESV)

Think on that for a moment and rejoice with me.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I use my phone book to accumulate space on a baker’s rack in the kitchen.

Comment by Greg

Matt’s definitely rejoicing…he never learned how to use the phone book anyway! 🙂

Comment by Michelle




Leave a Reply

