Leight Hearted Babble


What will tomorrow bring?
March 17, 2010, 10:24 pm
Filed under: devotional thoughts, faith

13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— 14 yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. 15 Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”

– James 4:13-15 (ESV)

What if tomorrow is the worst day of your life?

Better yet, what if tomorrow is the last day of your life?

This is a question that I ask my students sometimes. It’s a question that we need to ask ourselves every now and then because we all like to pretend that we know what tomorrow is gonna bring when, in reality, we’re not promised our next breath. And, even if the next breath comes it may not be pleasant.

I came home this evening to learn that a dear friend had passed away unexpectedly. He was only in his late 40’s and seemed relatively healthy. He left behind a wife and son who’s in college.

It’s times like these that I remember that I’m not in control and I’m not really sure what tomorrow will bring. I make my plans and prepare for life, but when it comes down to it, I can’t say with any level of certainty what’s around the corner.

So what do you do with that? How do we live life knowing that tomorrow could be the worst day of our lives?

All we can do is acknowledge that we are ignorant and weak, but God is all-knowing, all-powerful, and good. Let us trust in Christ who told his disciples in John 16:33, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

As we plan our days, let us do so with a humble heart knowing that God alone controls the length of our days. Let us also look to the future with the peace that comes from knowing that Christ has overcome the world.

Life, while uncertain, is not hopeless!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment